Traditional Foods of Passover


Every spring, traditionally for eight days Jewish people celebrate Passover to honor the Israeli liberation from Egyptian slavery. A large part of Passover is the Seder dinner. Held at the beginning of Passover, there are very traditional and specific foods that are consumed.

  • Beitzah: The egg is a symbol of rebirth and of the circle of life.

  • Maror: Bitter herbs such as horseradish symbolize the bitterness of enslavement.

  • Karpas: A non-bitter vegetable which symbolizes spring, hope and the initial flourishing of the Israelites in Egypt. It is dipped in salted water to symbolize tears of the harsh conditions they began to live under.

  • Haroset: A mixture of fruit, nuts, and wine that represents the mortar used to build the temples while the Jews were enslaved.

  • Hazeret: Another bitter herb which is combined with Matzo during the second part of the Seder. Some Seder meals do not include this second herb.

  • Z'roa: A lamb shank (vegetarians sometimes use a beetroot) represents the sparing of Jewish first born during the tenth plague.

  • Matzah (or Matzo): Is a form of unleavened bread that is eaten like a cracker, this symbolizes when the Jews fled from Egypt. It is said they left in such a hurry they could not even leaven their bread. The bread is made from a flat wheat bread that is washed a special way so that it does not ferment.

  • Orange: A new addition to the Seder meal is intended to symbolize the importance of the role of women, gays, and lesbians in Jewish life.

  • Olives: Another new addition to the Seder meal, symbolizes the hope of peace between Palestine and Israel.

  • Grape Juice or Kosher Red Wine: Used four times during the meal, symbolizes the four promises made by God.

  • Other foods that may be eaten during Passover: Fresh fruit, fresh vegetables, eggs, fresh fish, fresh meat and poultry, pure tea, pure coffee, sugar, honey, milk, cottage cheese, cream cheese, ketchup, mayonnaise, grape juice, wine, oils, candy, ice cream, yogurts, potato.

What’s Not Allowed During Passover

Fermentable grains such as wheat, rye, oats, barley, and spelt are known as chametz and cannot be consumed during Passover. Therefore, these foods should be avoided:
  • Leavened bread, rolls, bagels, muffins, biscuits, croissants, doughnuts, crackers

  • Cakes, Cereals, Coffee with cereal additives

  • Wheat, barley, oats, spelt, rye

  • All liquids containing ingredients or flavors made from grain alcohol

What Might Be Allowed During Passover

Kitniyot or foods such as beans, lentils, rice, corn, and seeds have traditionally been left off the table in some Jewish households. There is some controversy depending on what a person’s background is whether or not these foods are allowed during Passover.




6 Comments
GrannyGravymaker
Tee G - Mar 21, 2018
The link to myjewishliving.com is very interesting! I'm glad that I don't have to keep a kosher kitchen.
Katwyn100
K Wynn - Mar 21, 2018
Try again - it wasn't Israeli liberation, it was liberation of the Israelites.
NoniKitchen
Sylvia England - Apr 10, 2017
Alice copy and paste to a word or note document. Then save make changes and print.
Villagechick
Alice may Matulevich - Apr 10, 2017
That's rediculous, I wanted to copy this to show some friends, it printed 12 pages, what a waste, there should be a better way to set it up.
Alice May.
Reuben On Rye Recipe

Reuben on Rye

Colleen Sowa @colleenlucky7

This is one of my all time favorite sandwiches! When I go out for lunch, this is usually what I would order. My mother use to make this sandwich when...

Traditional Hard Matzo Ball Soup Recipe

Traditional Hard Matzo Ball Soup

Pamela Rappaport @Pamelalala

When I married my Jewish husband 28 years ago, his mother taught me to make "real" matzo ball soup. She said the fluffy kind you get in a deli isn't...

Jewish Apple Cake Recipe

Jewish Apple Cake

Rachael Laveck @RachaelLaveck

As it sits in the fridge, I find that it becomes better in time.